First Blog Post!

So here it goes, my very first blog post. I’m sitting in the local coffee shop with my laptop and Bible in hand. The AC is blowing far too cold, the table is coated in a layer of sticky coffee remnants, and the speakers are echoing some singer-songwriter sort of tune I’ve never heard before.

My gaze sets on the plastic houseplant on the table in front of me as I contemplate what in the world I should write about. This is my very first blog post after all. I want to make it something to remember. I franticly search my brain for inspiration… then I stop myself.

“God, what do you want me to say?”

This is where I should’ve started. There is beauty in the moment we stop looking to ourselves, and start looking to God.

Psalm 46:10-11 (NAS) says this:

“Cease striving and know that I am God; I will be exalted among the nations, I will be exalted in the earth.” The LORD of hosts is with us; The God of Jacob is our stronghold.

If we don’t stop to look for God we will rarely see Him. So I stop and I look around. I look for God.

I can hear the hum of the refrigerator behind the counter. The shuffle of the barista’s feet as she cleans while waiting for the next customer. I listen intently; noticing every detail there is to notice in the room. I must admit I’m getting a little frustrated. I don’t hear God in any of the noise. I look back to the verse I just read:

Cease striving and KNOW that I am God…

Hmm, that is interesting. It doesn’t say cease your striving and hear that I am God. It’s not cease your striving and see that I am God.  Psalm 46:10 says Cease your striving and know

Maybe I am the only one, but I tend to expect God to show up when I take the time to be still. It’s like, “Okay God I’m here. I’m listening. You can speak now.” Almost as if I am giving Him permission or something.

How messed up is that? I expect I deserve some sort of reward for entering into His presence. Like being allowed to enter his presence isn’t enough. What does it look like to be still and Know? What is the purpose in it?

What if God doesn’t necessarily want us to be still for our own benefit? I think there is beauty to spending time in God’s presence, but walking away without any sort of lightning bolt, “Aha!” moment. Don’t get me wrong, times of significant realization are great, but it’s humbling to discover that entering the presence of God isn’t just about making you a better person. Sometimes we need to be still in God’s presence just to love and worship God. We need to take the time to lay down our agendas and just appreciate all that God is.

I stare blankly at my screen for a moment to focus on this truth. After a few moments I glance down at my watch and realize that it’s about time for me to go.  This might not be the most profound and memorable first blog post, but I feel like it’s something that God laid on my heart so I’m happy with it. I begin to pack up my backpack and shut down my laptop. I feel ready to tackle the day ahead, inspired by the time I just spent recognizing my Father’s presence.

You will seek Me and find Me when you search for Me with all your heart

-Jeremiah 29:13 (NAS)-

One thought on “First Blog Post!

Leave a Reply

